Practice

By Lanaya Nelson for Stop.Breathe.Action

Dogs are better than human beings because they know but do not tell. –Emily Dickinson

We were taught from a young age to speak up!  Be heard!  Yelp!  And this culture of self-expression is explicitly and visually evident with today’s online apparatus boom.  4G whoop whoop!  Facebook, Twitter, texting, gchat—you name it and you can probably comment on it.  You can say whatever you want, wherever you want- and you can choose to stay anonymous, or for the brave—be held accountable for your opinions and embrace your vanity.

Don’t worry, I’m not going to go all Orwell on you (I’ll save that for a darker blog), because if it weren’t for technology’s communication advancements this site would not even exist!!  And revolutions are rising because we, the people, are the media now.  We are the truth.  Propaganda?  Yup, it’s dwindling.  Thank goodness.

Okay, enough with the up rise.  Let’s bring it back down.  Down, down to the point of this blog.  With all this accessibility, it is so much harder to practice self-control.  Our impulses are catered to every second of the day that our iPhones, iPads, and BlackBerries are in reach.  I’m pretty sure I am going to be boyfriendless if I don’t promise to refrain from going on Facebook for one day.  I am preaching to the choir here.  I am just like everyone else, if not way worse. I am an addict.  It has become an American habit.  Connectivity has become our pacifier for those moments of reprieve that we should cherish and enjoy.  Those moments waiting for the train, sitting at a red light, going for a walk, engaging in an uninterrupted conversation, reading a book, just… being.  Updating our status’ is the new “be”.  Ugh… really?!  How did this happen?  Well, I’m going to gain control.  How about you?

The quote: Dickinson is on to something here (other than just being a dog lover ;).  And I think this notion can go beyond just the online mayhem.  It can go forth in daily confrontations… speak less, say more.  And again, I am not dishing out advice here.  I am sincerely working on the art of biting my tongue, keeping the peace.  Reeling in the sarcasm.  I just have noticed, through the years of experience that if diffusing a conflict with restraint at the moment of crisis, the outcome is usually much more positive, thoughtful, and resolving.  This may be a trait that I envy most and have discerned to be the most effective in relationships.  And this trait can also be carried over to the cyber-world and the interactions with yourself online (because, let’s face it, facebook really is just a relationship with yourself…).

I will practice pausing.  I am going to put what I know on pause, let it simmer, and if it still is itching to be posted or verbalized, then I will hit post, submit, send, yes, no, maybe.

Stop.  Breathe.  Practice.

STOP.BREATHE.ACTION

CREATIVE MOTIVATION BY SETH D. COHEN

3 thoughts on “Practice

Leave a Reply

