Be Different – Not Better

By Seth D. Cohen for Stop.Breathe Action

We are sent out into this world and told to be better than the next person. You need to get better grades than little Timmy, you need to dress better than Billy, you need to be a better doctor than Rachel and so on..

The problem is that we lack the confidence and drive to be different because our mindset is to be better.

We think that being better will get you the job, will get you the raise, will get you the bigger house and nicer car, but being better than someone or some company is short lived.  It may only last for a day or a month or a year -being better lacks longevity.

I guarantee you that there is someone else in this world who will get up earlier than you, who is smarter or more educated than you, who will work out harder than you and who can out spend you.  But who gives a sh*t because you should strive to be different not better. Thinking or striving to be better than someone is a terrible mindset to have – it’s egotistical.

It’s being and thinking differently than the next person that will get you further in life. But they don’t teach you how to be or think different, in fact they teach you that being different will get you picked on or made fun of. With so much at stake in this ever changing world, you need to separate youself from the pack.

I don’t want to be better, I want to be the most creative, the most energetic, the most passionate – I WANT TO BE DIFFERENT AND THINK DIFFERENTLY.

Don’t get me wrong, I will hustle and grind it out just like the next person but I don’t have a be better mindset, I have a be different, think differently mindset.

Here is my Be Different/Think Differently Manifesto:

It’s ok if you think your better than me.

It’s ok if you get up earlier or stay later than I do.

It’s ok if you have more money, a bigger house or a fancier car than I do.

It’s ok if you have a longer job title than I do.

But don’t forget about me because. . . . I’m Different.

I’m more creative than you.

I’m more motivated than you.

I’m more inspired than you.

I will change things, invent things, brand things.

I will explore to greater depths.

I will push, pull and fight.

Not becasue I’m better, but becasue I’m different.

Stop.Breathe.Action

Creative Motivation by Seth D. Cohen

8 thoughts on “Be Different – Not Better

  1. I read this to my twelve year old son. I hope the message sinks in. I read a quote recently that stated, “Competition may sharpen the knife but it will never create the knife.” I really enjoyed this post.

  2. ” in order to be irreplaceable one must always be different” – Coco Chanel
    I’ve always loved that quote and I thought I’d share it with you 🙂
    Thanks for the comment ! It’s nice to hear when others Like my blog . In enjoyed reading yours as well it’s also very inspiring !

  3. It took me a few moments to “get” this. Not because of your writing, but I am driven (self-imposed) to be better. Better, not against others, but better than myself. Better than I was. Sort of a continual improvement motif.

    I like the idea of being different to be better. Again the better as compared to self.

    Be encouraged!

  4. Pingback: More Than a Mom-Droid:Letting Children See Your Soul | space2live

  5. Pingback: Word Of The Day: Effrontery « Stop.Breathe.Action

Leave a Reply

