Tony Robbins Firewalk

By Seth D. Cohen for Stop.Breathe.Action

Oprah and Tony Robbins Fire Walking

If you haven’t already heard almost two dozen people were burned doing a firewalk at a Tony Robbins seminar in San Jose. During Robbins “Unleash the Power Within” seminar he invited participants to walk on hot coals as a metaphor for overcoming difficulties. This practice has gone on for three decades according to Robbins’ representatives. (Source: Reuters)

Please listen very carefully, you don’t need to perform a firewalk to overcome your difficulties and you certainly don’t need to pay $1000 and up to attend a Tony Robbins event. Although I don’t have all the answers on how to motivate people, I know that in order to change your life, YOU have to change it, not Tony Robbins and not walking on hot coals.

After my severe IBS flareup I didn’t walk on coals to help change my life. I realized that I was the only one who could change my life. I needed action to be a habit, not a “once in a while” occurrence. Here’s what I did:

  • Wrote in a motivational journal
  • Read motivational blogs, articles and books
  • Got off the couch and turned off the t.v.
  • Stopped feeling bad for myself
  • Started a blog
  • Meditated
  • Exercised

To be clear, we all need help getting and staying motivated. Clearly I wouldn’t be writing this blog if I didn’t think this was true. But we need to stop falling for the gimmicks. Put the onus and responsibility on you to change, not a firewalk and not a motivational speaker charging you thousands of dollars for some bogus seminar. You can change and you can overcome your difficulties. It will take time, but your moment is close.

**Full disclosure – I aspire to be a motivational speaker but I refuse to use gimmicks and tricks to reach my dreams.

*If you haven’t already, check out The 25 Rules of Action.

Thanks for visiting and I will see you right back here for the next Action inspired post.

-SDC

# # #

Seth D. Cohen (SDC) is the founder of Stop.Breathe.Action. You can follow him on twitter @sdcohen.

5 thoughts on “Tony Robbins Firewalk

  1. Ha,..I actually blogged on this today.. the idiocy of some folks..Idiocy for believing that your power can be retrieved by walking on coals..

Leave a Reply

