Babysitters Need To Be Responsible Too

By Seth D. Cohen

Don't Tell Mom The Babysitter Is Dead

Image from the movie: Don’t Tell Mom The Babysitter Is Dead

I’m sure that if you search hard enough you will find someone better than me at my job – – although it will be a tough search. In all seriousness, there will always be someone smarter than you and yes maybe even better than you at our job (although if you read this blog I doubt it). But a key trait that not many people have and can clearly separate you from others is responsibility.  If you take responsibility for your actions and do what you say you’re going to do, you will be more successful than most.

Last week our babysitter decided to cancel on us 6 days before my night out with my wife and family via a text message. My sister’s babysitter canceled on her 30 minutes before her night out that same week. My babysitter is a teenager, my sister’s is an adult with children of her own. So why did my babysitter cancel? Her friend was in town and was throwing a raging party and she wanted to go. And my sister’s babysitter? She found a better opportunity that night. What’s the point you’re saying? It’s about responsibility.

I don’t care who you are or what you do – – BE RESPONSIBLE.  If you say you’re going to do something, do it! Do it with class and do it well.

I always say, becoming successful is simple, not easy, but simple.  Being successful comes down to action and focus:

Action – follow through, do what you say you will do, flex your execution muscle and be remarkable.

Focus – don’t get distracted, stay on course.

I don’t care if you’re a janitor, a taxi cab driver, a plumber, a teacher, a CEO, or even a babysitter. The bottom line is that no matter what you do, be the best at it and be responsible.  And oh yeah, Karma is a bitch too! My babysitter will never work for us again, we will never give a good recommendation for her and she will never have the joy of seeing my beautiful daughter again!

P.S. To all you babysitters out there who never cancel, who show up on time and who take amazing care of our children – – THANK YOU!

With Gratitude,

SDC

 ###

Follow Seth D. Cohen on Twitter @sdcohen.

One thought on “Babysitters Need To Be Responsible Too

  1. HI there,
    I own a sitting service called Sitter at the Shore here in Southern New Jersey.
    I have over 40 sitters and if one cancels on my client a few days in advance, I obviously quickly replace her, heck, I have done this even last minute. But, the sitter get a warning and if it happens again last minute they are out of our agency. Parents make appointments, reservations, meetings, dates, and no one want to let down. I totally agree. I have been doing this for the past 16 years now and going strong. I expect the best sitters, just like my families.

Leave a Reply

